THE GOD of ALL COMFORT

This is primarily an admonition concerning something that we all embrace as being a scriptural truth, but don’t always walk in. It’s easy to become overwhelmed by the flurry of obligations and battles that we face; both in the spiritual realm and the natural. As the world continues on the path toward scriptural fulfillment, we know that stress and tribulation will continue to mount; especially in the lives of the saints. The enemy is relantless in his quest to either derail our faith through deceptions, or neutralize us through a myriad of distractions. The battle rages; hour after hour, and week after week. Our adversary never takes a day off and never gets distracted from his objective of devouring the eternal ones.

Revelation 12:12 “Therefore rejoice ye heavens, and ye that dwell in them. Woe to the inhabitors of the earth and of the sea! for the devil is come down unto you, having great wrath, because he knoweth that he hath but a short time.”

The words “short time” speak volumes. This is a temporal setting and the trial of our faith is but for a season. regardless of what we are facing at any given moment, we can be certain that, a hundred years from now it will have run its course and all of the players will be in their eternal abode. (II Corinthians 4:18 comes to mind)

Lest we buckle beneath the cresendo of assaults, or allow the distractions of this world to pry us away from our first love, it’s imperative to abide in the supernatural rest that God grants to those who love him. Back in December, a myriad of situations brought me face to face with my wits end. It was a “too close for comfort” reminder that I have a lot of growing to do. We need to stay close to Jesus because what we are facing now will intensify as the end approaches. That’s why this post is going to be a revisiting of some familiar passages relating to the peace of God; beginning with one that has become a daily confession in prayer.

Psalm 61:3 “For thou hast been a shelter for me, and a strong tower from the enemy.”

Hardly a day goes by when, during prayer, these words come out. “Lord, you are my strong tower. Despite all thats taking place in my ambience, you are my confidence.” Every time I would (and still do) consider this truth, it isn’t long before the peace of God returns, clarity is granted concerning the eternal picture, and intercession is being offered up for for the contemporaries. Oftentimes; when chaos seems to be carrying the day and the devices of the wicked are bearing fruit, the best thing to do is to bring it all to Jesus. When this is done, in faith and sincere desire for understanding, The Lord answers every time. We can enter a time of prayer feeling as though all is lost, and be revived in a moment.

The writer of Psalm 73 was incredibly discouraged. He had been witnessing the prosperity of the wicked, who consistantly perform their desires and even speak out against God. “Behold, these are the ungodly, who prosper in the world, and increase  in riches.” he wrote. All the while he was plagued from every side and chastened every morning. His life was chaotic and from a natural vantage point, it seemed to be a great injustice. The pondering must have been overwhelming “When I thought to know this, it was too painful for me”  

Psalm 73:17-19 “Until I went into the sanctuary of God; then understood I their end.
Surely thou didst set them in slippery places: thou castedst them down to destruction.
How are they brought into desolation, as in a moment! they are utterly consumed by terrors.”

A few momments before the LORD and suddenly, he was granted, as it were, a panoramic view of the contestings. He began to see what God sees and in verse 22, he confessed “So foolish was I, and ignorant. I was as a beast before thee.”

Psalm 73:23-24 “Nevertheless I am continually with thee: thou hast holden me by my right hand.
Thou shalt guide me with counsel, and afterward receiveme to glory.”

This stands along side all of the well known comfort passeges. And while this has been true for every generation, it takes on special significance in our time. We know from Daniel 7:21 that the son of perdition is going to “make war with the saints and prevail against them.” This is going to be unlike the tribulations faced by any other generation (Matthew 24:21,) however,  if we’re abiding in Christ; making him our strong tower, he will sustain us until our testimony is completed. If we are battling fear (all of us wrestle with this to one degree or another) it should prompt us to draw in closer to Jesus. He knows our situation from every angle. He knows the designs of the enemy, he knows where we struggle, and he knows the work that he’s doing in our life. The trial of our faith works patience and results in treasure that will never fade away. Long after Satan and all of his minions have been cast into everlasting darkness, we’ll be shining as the firmament.  

Isaiah 26:3 “thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

II Corinthians 1:3-4 “Blessed be God, even the father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the father of mercies, and the God of all comfort;
Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.

Time doesn’t permit me to refer to the passages that i had actually planned on using for this, but the message is the same. We have a faithful Creator and high priest in Jesus, who ever lives to make intercession for us. Regardless of anytning that we may encounter and regardless of any attacks aimed in  our direction, Jesus has promised to be with us always. Even if we end up in a FEMA camp for refusing to partake of a manditory vaccination program wherein a pencil-point sized chip is injected into every recipient. (Steve Quayle discussed this on Coast to Coast last night.) Without as doubt, we are in strange times.

I need to be going, however, one aspect is in need of mentioning. Over the past few months, a particular attribute has been popping up during prayer time. It’s the word “sovereign” and it involves the truth that God inhabits eternity. He created all that is, and he is unchanging. He is completely righteous in every way and sees our thought sfar off. The sovereignty of God has been a point of cogitation and much comfort. To know that, when I enter a time of prayer, I’m in the presence of the Almighty and that he loves us more than we can fathom. (I John 3:16)

Blessings always in Jesus name.

8 Responses to “THE GOD of ALL COMFORT”

  1. That was a sobering message, timbob. It has become so plain to me that Christ is getting ready to return very soon. There are so many signs that are supposedly being explained away but yet they aren’t. I feel an overwhelming desire to pray continually for the lost. Time is so short. Although we don’t know the hour, Jesus gave us clues to the events which would signify the very near ending. We are there!
    I found comfort in Psalm 73 and have memorized it. I am also glad that your last paragraph reminds us of God’s sovereignty-that God inhabits eternity! I know in my heart that God will keep in his peace those who belong to him. I am just saddened at the sight of so many who are blinded to the truth.

  2. Hi Marianne. Thanks s for taking time to stop by. Indeed the urgency is greater than ever as we see all of these signs and know what they mean. To see those around us express no concern for their eternal well-being; even as the end time senario is mainfesating is sobering. As you mention, it causes us to pray fervently for those around us. I mean, if Jesus were to return this afternoon, most of those in my ambience are not prepared for this.

    Thanks again for stopping by. May we all be about the task of reaching out to those who are glued to the matrix with the love of Jesus.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

  3. Interesting thought came to mind about the verse “that the son of perdition is going tomake war with the saints and prevail against them.” — I don’t think that is a personal victory over a saint – meaning in a saint’s life– becuase of verses like Luke 10:19 and many others about protection in these last days. However, the saints are fighting for the souls of those “believers” caught in deception – and in that arena he will prevail. I find that now – those around me who are in the church and so deceived – they can’t see. They don’t “hear” the truth because they think they have it. It’s heart breaking.

    Rachel

  4. Hi rachel. It’s a truly sad situation that persists in the church today, as you have mentioned. Multitudes going throught the motions of Christianity, professing “I see I see” when they actually don’t see. Pat Holliday recently discussed the great falling away and stated “I never imagined that it would be this big.” All the more reason to stay in prayer and ask the lord to open up the slumbering. All the while taking heed lest we drift off to sleep.

    Something just occured to me while writing the previous paragraph here. When I”m really exhausted, I can drift off anywhere. (like when driving) I don’t get a lot of sleep due to a myriad of circumstances in my life and it can be a dangerous situation. If this is true in the nautral; that we can drift off to sleep in a moment, how much more must we watch for it in the spiritual realm.

    Just a thought. Thanks so much for stopping by. May we keep those in prayer who don’t see what’s transpiring.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

  5. I enjoyed this post immensely. My eyes have been opened to so many things lately. Truthfully, just within the last couple weeks. The things I have read, people who have crossed my path, dreams I’ve had have all seem to be connected in one way or another. I feel like I’m in one of those accelerated immersion programs. God has been loading my plate and this post was just another morsel. It fits with what I’m learning, and no doubt I will need it soon.

    I do have one question, though. Twice you’ve mentioned ambiance. I don’t think I’ve ever heard it in the context in which you are using it. Can you explain this for me? Thanks.

    Nina

  6. Hi Nina. Thanks for taking time to stop by. The term “accelerated immersion” is intetesting. I think that we’re all being brought to the place that we’ll have to be in for the days ahead. He knows exactly what we need at any given time. He truly is a faithful Creator.

    The word “ambience” is one that I probably don’t use properly, however I like the way it sounds. (lol) I often use it as when making a reference to the surrounding environment.

    Thanks again for stopping by.

    Blessings always in Jesus name.

  7. (Even if we end up in a FEMA camp for refusing to partake of a manditory vaccination program wherein a pencil-point sized chip is injected into every recipient)

    There are Youtube videos which show Bill Gates talking about how vaccines will be used for the NWO depopulation agenda. He flat-out says it, employing no subtly whatsoever! I watched some awhile ago and just now noticed on Yahoo news that Bill Gates is pouring many millions of dollars into a new vaccinination program for children overseas. Over my dead body would I allow my child to get one! Also, the World Health Organization has a depopulation agenda, too. So it HAS to make you wary of vaccines!! I also wonder if that is how a chip will be unknowingly administered to people.

    Scary times indeed! And you are sooo right, timbob, we need to pray fervently for those who are lost and those whose eyes are not opened.

    Blessings.

  8. Hi w4j111. This is something that we have resisted as well. Our doctor was going to administer flu shots to our kids and I refused to allow it. She looked at me kind of funny and I had to sign a waver saying that we had chosen this course of action, but they didn’t get their “stuff” into our kids.

    I don’t know why, (and it’s going to sound carnal) but whenever the topic of flu vaccines comes up the old song comes to mind “I’ve got you under my skin.” They want to get their hooks into us and take most of us out of the way. They seem to be past all feeling, but everything is being recorded in heaven.

    I recently heard about the development of a microchip that was so tiny that it could be injected like a vaccine. Time will tell how this is all going to play out, but at the conclusion, eery knee is going to bow and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord.

    Thanks so much for your input. Blessings always in Jesus name.

Leave a Reply

